FFM27 Opening Night Announces 10 Awards

Published by Amzar Anizam @ 02/09/2015

Cho We Jun received the award for Best Short Film by Dato' Jailani Johari.

The 27th Malaysia Film Festival (FFM) opening night announced 10 awards at the Symphony Lake Suite, KLCC on 2nd September 2015. The prestigious film festival opening night was officiated by Dato’ Kamil Othman, Director General of FINAS.

Among the VIPs in attendance were Dato’ Jailani Johari, Deputy Minister of Communications and Multimedia (KKMM) and Dato' Sri Dr. Sharifah Zarah Syed Ahmad, Secretary-General Ministry of Communications and Multimedia.

“FFM is such a remarkable experience for both filmmakers and film lovers and I hope it will continue to do so for years to come. I also hope Malaysian filmmakers will use this platform to come out with more historical films in the future,” said Dato’ Jailani Johari in tandem with the theme for this year's Independence Day celebration – #SehatiSejiwa.

The film festival also rewarded advocates who contributed to the arts movement behind the scenes, and this year, Puan Mariam Ibrahim was awarded with the special Behind-the-Scenes Advocate Award.

The full winner list is as follows:

Best Special Effects – Seventh (Mirage Works)
Best Costume Design – Hungry Ghost Ritual (Elaine Ng & Wing Shum)
Best Original Theme Song –  Lautan by Yuna (Lagenda Budak Setan 3)
Best Sound Mixing – Hungry Ghost Ritual (Winson Poon)
Best Art Design –  Lelaki Harapan Dunia (Tunku Mohd Taufek / Tunku Tommy Mansur)
Best Short Film –  Salvaj (Cho We Jun)Best Animation Film – Ribbit (KRU International)
Best Animation Series – Rimba Racer (Glue Studios)
Best Original Score –  Manisnya Cinta di Cappadocia (Ooi Su Lyn & Teoh Eng Hooi)
Behind-the-Scenes Advocate Award – Puan Mariam Ibrahim

Another 18 awards will be given out at the main ceremony on 5th September 2015 at Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre.

Click for more photos