FFM 28 Opening Night Announces 10 Award Winners

Published by Mila Ismail @ 02/09/2016

The National Film Development Corporation (FINAS) has officially opened the curtains to the 28th edition of Malaysian Film Festival (FFM 28) last night by announcing 10 award winners at FINAS Studio Sound Stage.

Ola Bola, which garnered 14 nominations swept three awards for Best Costume Design (Elaine Ng and Weng Shum), Best Original Music Score (Onn San and Alex San), and Best Original Theme Song (Arena Cahaya by Zee Avi and Rendra Zawawi).

Whereas Imaginex Studios, which dominated the Best Sound Stage nomination, took home the trophy for their work on Munafik, Syamsul Yusof’s critically acclaimed horror film.

This year’s Behind-the-Scenes Advocate award was presented to a 76-year-old veteran film crew member, Mohd Noor Tagaya for his contribution in the film industry.

The 21 remaining categories will be presented tomorrow, on 3rd September at the Plenary Hall, Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre. The award night will be screened live on Astro Ria and Astro Ria HD.


Full list of FFM28 Opening Night winners:


Best Costume Design

Ola Bola - Elaine Ng & Weng Shum


Best Art Direction

Huat the Fish - Wong Jee Meng & Nick Wong


Best Visual Effects

Cicakman 3 - Yusry Abdul Halim


Best Sound Stage

Munafik - Imaginex Studios Sdn Bhd


Best Original Music Score

Ola Bola - Onn San & Alex San


Best Original Theme Song

Ola Bola - Zee Avi & Rendra Zawawi (Arena Cahaya)


Best Short Animation

Ejen Ali - Wau Animation


Best Short Film

RM10 - Entropy Studios Sdn Bhd


Best Documentary Film

Boat People - Dosfellas Sdn Bhd


Behind-the-Scenes Advocate Award

Mohd Noor Tagaya

Behind-the-Screen Advocate Award

Best Sound Stage Award Recipient

Best Original Music Score Award Recipient

Best Costume Award Recipient

Best Short Animation Award Recipient

Best Visual Effects Award Recipient

Best Original Theme Song Award Recipient

Best Short Film Award Recipient