Munafik Sweeps 5 Categories at FFM 28, Including Best National Film

Published by Amzar Anizam @ 04/09/2016

Syamsul Yusof’s comeback film, Munafik swept five categories, including the coveted ‘Best National Film’ award at the 28th Malaysia Film Festival (FFM 28), held at Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre on 3rd September 2016.

The horror film beat Astro Shaw’s Polis Evo, 42nd Pictures’ Nota, Skop Production/Viper Studios’ Mat Moto: Kami Bukan Mat Rempit, and U2 Media’s Jejak Warriors for the title. Apart from the grand award, the film scored four other trophies through Best Director (Syamsul Yusof), Best Actress (Nabila Huda), Best Editing (Syamsul Yusof), and Best Sound (Imaginex Studios).

Munafik, which is Syamsul’s ninth film tells the story of Adam (Syamsul Yusof), a Muslim medical practitioner who is unable to accept his wife’s passing and started to experience strange and unsettling occurrences after he agreed to treat a woman named Maria (Nabila Huda).

“I’m very thankful and blessed to have everyone supporting my film and my career. Even though Munafik is a horror film by genre, it clearly bears an Islamic message that I believe to be truly invaluable,” said the director.

Produced by Skop Productions, the film which garnered RM19 million in ticket sales was nominated for nine categories at this year’s festival, including Best Malaysian Film, Best Cinematography, Best Visual Effect, and Best Original Score.


Full List of FFM 28 Winners:

Best National Film: Munafik (Syamsul Yusof)

Best Malaysian Film: Jagat (Shanjey Kumar Perumal)

Best Director: Syamsul Yusof (Munafik)

Best Actor: Pekin Ibrahim (Mat Moto: Kami Mat Moto, Bukan Mat Rempit)

Best Actress: Nabila Huda (Munafik)

Best Supporting Actor: Hushairi Husain (Polis Evo)

Best Supporting Actress: Fauziah Datuk Ahmad Daud (Langit Cinta)

Best New Director: Shanjhey Kumar Perumal (Jagat)

Best New Actor: Adam Shahz (Juvana 2)

Best New Actress: Falisha Crossley (Mat Moto - Kami Mat Moto Bukan Mat Rempit)

Best Child Actor: Tan Qin Lin (The Kid from the Big Apple)

Best Animation Feature: BoBoiBoy The Movie (Animonsta Studios Sdn Bhd)

Best Editing: Syamsul Yusof (Munafik)

Best Cinematography: Harris Hue Abdullah (Polis Evo)

Special Jury Award 1: Polis Evo (Astro Shaw)

Special Jury Award 2: Ola Bola (Astro Shaw)

Special Jury Award 3: The Kid from the Big Apple (Three Production)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Deddy M Borhan

Best Visual Effects: Yusry Abd Halim (Cicakman 3)

Best Costume Designer: Elaine Ng, Weng Shum (Ola Bola)

Best Art Direction: Wong Jee Meng and Nick Wong (Huat The Fish)

Best Music Score: Imaginex Studios (Munafik)

Best Original Score: Ong San and Alex San (Ola Bola)

Best Original Song: Zee Avi (Arena Cahaya) for Ola Bola

Best Short Animation Film: Wau Animation for Ejen Ali

Best Short Film: Entrophy Studios Sdn Bhd for RM10

Behind-the-scene Award: Mohd Noor Tagaya

Best Documentary: Dos Fella for Boat People