FFM 28 Celebrates New Directors

Published by Mila Ismail @ 05/09/2016

Shanjhey Kumar Perumal receiving the Best Malaysian Film award

The recently concluded 28th Malaysian Film Festival (FFM 28) held at the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre, recognised the efforts of three new directors; Shanjhey Kumar Perumal with Jagat, Pekin Ibrahim with Mat Moto: Kami Mat Moto Bukan Mat Rempit, and Jess Teong with The Kid from the Big Apple.

Nominated for six categories, Jagat garnered the coveted Best Malaysian Film award, beating nine other nominees including Ola Bola, Polis Evo, Maravan, Nota and others. In addition, director Shanjhey Kumar also scored the trophy for Best New Director, for his Tamil crime and drama film.

Another celebrated new director on the prestigious night was Pekin Ibrahim, which won the award for Best Original Story for his directorial debut, Mat Moto: Kami Mat Moto Bukan Mat Rempit. The actor-turned-director also bagged the award for Best Actor in the dramedy film, which was produced by Skop Productions.

Moreover, FFM 28 presented Jess Teong’s first film as a director, The Kid from the Big Apple the Special Jury Award as the film highlighted strong cultural values and bridged the gap between generations. Furthermore, one of the main actresses, Tan Qin Lin won the award for Best Child Actor for her role as a bratty granddaughter.

FFM 28 is organised by FINAS and the Malaysian Film Producers Association (PFM), with the theme of ‘The Transformation of Our Cinemas (Transformasi Sinema Kita).’ The jury for this year's feature film category is headed by Datin Paduka Shuhaimi Baba, with Mamat Khalid, Aziz M. Osman, Prof. Dr. Faridah Ibrahim and Woo Ming Jin as the panelists.

Pekin Ibrahim receiving the award for Best Actor

Jess Teong receiving the Special Jury Award