Darren Choy Elected as the Chairman of RIM

Published by Mila Ismail @ 04/10/2016

Darren Choy. Photo by Darren Choy.

The Recording Industry Association of Malaysia (RIM) has appointed Darren Choy, the current Managing Director of Warner Music Malaysia as the new Chairman of RIM for 2016-2018 at RIM’s 38th Annual General Meeting recently. He replaces Dato’ Norman Abdul Halim, the Executive President and Group CEO of KRU Music, who stepped down after serving as the Chairman of RIM since 2010 and on the Council of RIM since 2004.

Darren was elected for his corporate experience in addition to having previously been RIM Chairman from 2002 to 2004. Moreover, he will preside over RIM’s priorities in legislative lobbying, international relations, organising awareness and publicity campaigns, furthering the development of the music business including in the digital, live event and artiste management arenas, and hosting the national awards for the music industry, Anugerah Industri Muzik (AIM).

“I am humbled by the trust and belief placed in me to lead RIM’s advocacy once again. I look forward to working with my fellow Council members and the management of RIM to drive strong growth and closer collaboration between all industry players and the government,” said Darren, who has held top leadership positions for major international companies throughout his career such as EMI Music Malaysia and Adidas South East Asia.

Dato’ Norman, the former Chairman of RIM commented, “I am honoured to have been able to serve the Malaysian recording industry and will continue to contribute with my regional and global roles in the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI). I am grateful for all the support received over the years and am confident that the Malaysian music industry will continue to grow in value and contributions to the country’s economy and society under Darren’s capable and experienced leadership.

The new RIM Council members include; Rosmin Hashim (Nova Music) as the Vice Chairman, Datin Dr. Shireen Mardziah Hashim (KRU Music), Edwin Tan (Suria Records), Kenny Ong (Universal Music), Ng Cheong Hock (Life Records) and others.

The new RIM Council Members, with Darren Choy as the new Chairman.