BMW Shorties Announces 12 Finalists

Published by Mila Ismail @ 24/11/2016

BMW Group Malaysia has announced the 12 finalists for the tenth edition of Malaysia’s most prestigious and established short film competition; BMW Shorties yesterday.

Among the finalists are Next New Wave’s alumni, Tan Ce Ding, Sherwynn Victor and Lim Han Loong, among others. The finalists were chosen by a line-up of Malaysia's top filmmaking figures; six-time BMW Shorties veteran and commercial filmmaker Lina Tan; award-winning Malaysian film maker, Liew Seng Tat; and up and coming filmmaker and screenwriter, Nadira Ilana. Joining them on the judges seat are renowned film editor and sound editor, Lee Chatametikool from Thailand as well as Yuni Hadi from Singapore; a refined film producer, author and curator specializing in the management of film and media projects.

The selected entries will have a shot at winning the grand prize of a RM 75,000 production grant, apart from the honour of Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, Best Editing and Best Sound Design, as well as the People’s Choice Award.

BMW Shorties is a cultural initiative started by BMW to provide a platform for aspiring filmmakers to discover their talent. Returning for the tenth year, the short film competition is themed “Journey” to commemorate its decade-long milestone.

List of finalists:

1. Aman Nak Besar? by Affendy Azizan

2. Hawa by Tan Ce Ding

3. Wednesday (休息日) by Lee Kahgiap

4. The Bosom by Pow Lai Xiang

5. Terminal by Caston J

6. Once See Fatt Cai (见发财) by Blackcat

7. 1304KM-Girl from Sumatra by Lim Han Loong

8. Terus by Sherwynn Victor

9. Revival by Tham Wai Fook

10. Prisoner (囚) by Dexter Lo        

11. A Short Film Without a Title by Koo Shu Xuan

12. Roundabout by Liew Yew Yin


Click for more photos