Giggle Garage’s Origanimals Wins Best 3D Animated Programme at Asian Television Awards 2016

Published by Mila Ismail @ 05/12/2016

Juhaidah Joemin, Managing Director of Giggle Garage

Giggle Garage's internationally-acclaimed animation, Origanimals scored the Best 3D Animated Programme award at the 21st Asian Television Awards held in Singapore on 1st December 2016.

Reviewed by an expert panel of over 60 judges from across the region, Origanimals bagged the trophy after topping five other nominees in the category including Omens Studios' Leo the Wildlife Ranger, Anyzac's ZombieDumb, One Animation's Oddbods - Marooned and The Insectibles, and Fantawild Animation's Boonie Bears: Sunsational Summer.

Origanimals follows the adventure of four friends, Ryan Rhino, Fiona Fox, Zoe Zebra and Khye Koala who make up the ‘Wildlife Rescue Team’ to help others in trouble using problem-solving skills and creative origami solutions. These funky characters live on Planet Origami, a place resembling Earth, except that everything on this planet is made out of paper-like substances. Origanimals is currently broadcasting in over 20 countries including Indonesia, Australia, New Zealand, Mexico, and others.

"We are honoured to have Origanimals receiving this award, which is an acknowledgement of the high quality of animation program we are producing at Giggle Garage. Besides our ‘Gigglers’ who worked tirelessly to produce such an amazing show, we would also like to thank our supporters Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation (MDEC), Malaysia Debt Venture (MDV Berhad) and ZooMoo Network for giving Origanimals a broadcasting home," said Juhaidah Joemin, Managing Director of Giggle Garage.

The Asian Television Awards is the Asian TV industry’s most significant and celebrated event, recognising excellence in programming, production and performance. The nominated programmes were selected through a rigorous short listing process involving pre-judging which narrowed the number of submissions to 267 programmes, and a final judging by key stakeholders of the jury to identity the final list of winners.