YAB Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad Awarded COTY Lifetime Automotive Award

Published by Idan Ma'at @ 19/12/2018

The Car of the Year 2018 awards recognized its first recipient of the COTY Lifetime Automotive Award. This year’s recipient is none other than Prime Minister YAB Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad. The father of the nation’s automotive industry has undoubtedly changed the landscape of the Malaysian economy from its commodities based roots into a flourishing Asian Tiger.

Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, Prime Minister of Malaysia

The vision of Tun Dr Mahathir has created an unmistakable technological critical mass within the overall Malaysian economy, standing proud today with more that 700 automotive parts and components manufacturers, distributors and dealers, as well as a 700,000 strong Malaysian workforce directly contributing to the nation’s industrialization agenda.

Minister of International Trade and Industry (MITI), Datuk Darell Leiking

The Peugeot 3008 1.6 Active compact crossover was named Malaysia Car of the Year (COTY) 2018 at a glittering awards ceremony organised by the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) and officiated by the Minister of International Trade and Industry (MITI), Datuk Darell Leiking.

The winners were picked after a thorough evaluation process by a panel of nine judges comprising of professionals and enthusiasts from various industries, including automotive experts, motoring editors and business journalists.

(Left to right) Malaysia Automotive Industry CEO Datuk Madani Sahari, Naza Automotive Manufacturing CEO Laurence Noel, Prime Minister of Malaysia, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, NAZA Group CEO of Naza Kia Malaysia, Dato’ Samson Anand George, Minister of International Trade and Industry (MITI), Datuk Darell Leiking, and Malaysia Car of the Year 2018 panel of judges Chairman Yamin Vong

Meanwhile, Datuk Aishah Ahmad, President of the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) was honored as the Automotive Personality of the Year 2018 for her years of contribution as a prominent leading voice towards the development of the Malaysian automotive industry since 1991.