Published by Lavinesh @ 16/01/2019

North Asia steals the show at the 23rd Asian Television Awards Gala Dinner held at Borneo Convention Centre Kuching (BCCK), Sarawak. Among the very talented pool of nominees, some nominees were extraordinarily talented and took the judges by surprise with their craftsmanship. Leading in the charts were award recipients from Korea, who are KBS for Best Documentary Programme (one-off/special), CJ E&M for Best Infotainment Programme, JTBC for Best Comedy Programme, Anyzac for Best 3D Animated Programme and many more.

The 23rd Asian Television Awards (ATA) comprises of over 40 categories and represents the industry’s foremost recognition to independent production houses in Asia. Last night, Kuching played host to the ATA Gala Dinner where a total of 28 out of 42 awards categories were up for grabs and the winner was chosen by an expert panel of over 50 judges from across the region. (The outstanding 14 award categories will be presented on Saturday, Jan 12th, 2019 during the Live Award Show). The judges were hand-picked based on their expertise and tremendous experience in local and international entertainment scene.

CGTN (China) received the Best Single News Story/Report (10mins or less) and Best Current Affairs Programme awards while NHK (Japan) received the Best Natural History or Wildlife Programme and Best Social Awareness Programme awards whereas TV18 (India) received the Best News Presenter or Anchor and Best Talk Show. Other notable award recipients are Kohei Higuchi, from Kansai TV (Japan), for Best Cinematography; Ken Chang, from Formosa (Taiwan), for Best Original Screenplay and Starr Chen, from TVBS (Taiwan), for Best Theme Song.

ATA is holding their 23rd edition in Kuching, Sarawak in support of “Visit Sarawak 2019” campaign organized by the Ministry of Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports of Sarawak. “Sarawak is focused in diversifying our economy, especially the tourism industry, by pushing it through the digital transformation. My ministry has taken initiatives to boost the Sarawak’s tourism industry via the digital transformation through the hosting of this prestigious event, we will be able to encourage more tourist to visit Sarawak to experience the true beauty of nature.” said Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah, Minister of Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports Sarawak.

Meanwhile, Chairman of ATV Awards Sdn Bhd, Lee Keen Whye said, “The Asian Television Awards has always been about recognizing excellence in programming, production and performance. We hope to encourage and aspire the next generation of talented individuals in the entertainment industry to pursue their dreams and further develop the industry as the Global Media Industry is ever changing”. He also added, “We hope that the Asian Television Awards will attract an increased traffic of global tourists to Sarawak, as well as industry players for location filming and hosting of conventions & events.”

Tonight, more than 50 Top Asian Celebrities will be attending the 23rd Asian Television Awards Live Show. Top Asian Celebrities that will be appearing consist of Derek Chun, James Kumar, Ase Wang, Cheng Rexen, Maylada Susri, Kim Nam Joo, Maneerat Kum-Uan, Hu Gua, Ah Xiang, Louis Scott, Ray Macdonald, Jirayu Tantrakul and many more. The Gala Dinner also has a remarkable line-up of Top Asian Celebrities performing whom are SF9, Qu Wanting, Via Vallen, Alvin Chong, Gary Valenciano, Kiana Valenciano and Winnie K to name a few.

ATA has revealed the full list of nominees for each category on its social media platforms, official website Past participants of ATA include more than 200 channels across Asia including KBS, NHK, HBO, CNN, Bloomberg, BBC, AL-JAZEERA, TV18, Discovery Networks, Imagine Group, Viacom International Media Networks, Astro, Media Prima, PT Televisi Indonesia, Mediacorp, CGTN, PCCW, Formosa, ABS-CBN, BBTV, SMG and many others. Please follow @Asiantvawards for latest update and information!

(L-R) May Wan, Mark Zambrano and Choy Wan

Lee Keen Whye (Chairman) of ATV Awards Sdn Bhd.

YB Datuk Abd Karim Rahman Hamzah (Minister) of Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports Sarawak

Derek Chun, James Kumar, Wallace Ang, Ase Wang, Adrian Jalaludin

The cast of Sri Ayodhaya: (L-R) Khemanit Jamikorn, Ananda Everingham, Sinjai Plengpanich